Department of Public Safety, State Emergency Management Agency Emergency Planning and Community Right-To-Know Fact Sheet

## **Explosives Reporting Requirements**



If you use, store, or produce explosives, you need to supply state and local officials with information about the explosives you have on hand. To comply with the Federal Emergency Planning and Community Right-to-Know Act of 1986 and the related Missouri law, follow these steps:

- 1. To comply with the federal law, facilities with more than 10,000 pounds of an explosive, covered by the Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA) hazard communication standard, must send a list of explosives or copies of MSDSs to the Missouri Emergency Response Commission, P.O. Box 3133, Jefferson City, MO 65102. A list of explosives or copies of MSDSs also must be sent to the local fire department and Local Emergency Planning Committee.
- 2. If required to submit a list of explosives or MSDSs under the federal law, you must also complete a Tier II reporting form by March 1st of each year. Tier II forms can be obtained by calling the Missouri Emergency Response Commission at 800-780-1014. Copies of your Tier II form must be submitted to the Missouri Emergency Response Commission, P.O. Box 3133, Jefferson City, MO 65102. In addition, they must be submitted to the Local Emergency Planning Committee and your local fire department.
- 3. The Missouri law differs from the federal law in two areas. First, the Missouri law requires "any person engaged in business" to report explosives. The federal law exempts facilities not covered by OSHA; however, these facilities are covered by the state law. Similarly, the Missouri law covers facilities operated by state and local governments.
- 4. The second area of difference between the state and federal laws pertain to temporary storage of explosives. Under the Missouri law, the storage of 100 pounds or more of explosives or blasting agents for less than fifteen days must be reported to the local fire department. The fire department must be notified within 24 hours of the arrival of the explosives or blasting agents at the site. This notification must describe the contents and amounts of the materials stored at the site. (If storage is more than 15 days, a list of the materials on site (or MSDS) and their amounts must be submitted to the local fire department, the Local Emergency Planning Committee, and the Missouri Emergency Response Commission (See #1 on this fact sheet)). Manufacturing and distribution facilities are **not** considered temporary storage facilities.
- Owners and operators of all facilities are required to submit reports under the state law (including explosive storage facilities) are also required to provide visible markings on the outside of buildings, rooms, and containers where hazardous substances are present. These markings must conform to the National Fire Protection Standard 704 marking system or other pertinent federal regulations.

For more information, contact the Missouri Emergency Response Commission at 800-780-1014.