Missouri Revised Statutes

Schools--General Provisions Sections 160.451 - 160.453 - 160.455 - 160.457

Earthquake emergency system to be established for certain school districts.

160.451. The governing body of each school district which can be expected to experience an intensity of ground shaking equivalent to a Modified Mercalli of VII or above from an earthquake occurring along the New Madrid Fault with a potential magnitude of 7.6 on the Richter Scale shall establish an earthquake emergency procedure system in every school building under its jurisdiction. The governing body of each school district shall request assistance from the state emergency management agency and any local emergency management agency located within its district boundaries to develop and establish the earthquake emergency procedure system.

(L. 1990 S.B. 539 § 2)

Requirements for emergency system--public inspection of system authorized.

- **160.453**. 1. The earthquake emergency procedure system shall include, but not be limited to, all of the following:
- (1) A school building disaster plan, ready for implementation at any time, for monitoring the safety and care of students and staff;
- (2) An emergency exercise to be held at least twice each school year whereby students and staff simulate earthquake emergency conditions and the procedures for safety and protection to be implemented under such conditions; provided the department of education shall not require any school district to perform more than two earthquake preparedness drills during any one school year;
- (3) Protective measures to be taken before, during and following an earthquake; and
- (4) A program to ensure that the students and certificated and noncertificated employees of the school district are aware of, and properly trained in, the earthquake emergency procedure system.
- 2. Each school district shall make available for public inspection during normal business hours its earthquake emergency procedure system.

(L. 1990 S.B. 539 § 3)

Distribution to each student certain materials on earthquake safety-- duties of school district.

- **160.455**. At the beginning of each school year, each school district in the state shall distribute to each student such materials that have been prepared by the Federal Emergency Management Agency, the state emergency management agency or by agencies that are authorities in the area of earthquake safety and that provide the following objectives:
- (1) Developing public awareness regarding the causes of earthquakes, the forces and effects of earthquakes, and the need for school and community action in coping with earthquake hazards;
- (2) Promoting understanding of the impact of earthquakes on natural features and manmade structures; and
- (3) Explaining what safety measures should be taken by individuals and households prior to, during and following an earthquake.

(L. 1990 S.B. 539 § 4)

School districts may elect to adopt certain provisions of earthquake emergency program.

160.457. The governing body of each school district which is situated in an area of the state which an be expected to experience an intensity of ground shaking of less than VII on the Modified ercalli scale from an earthquake occurring along the New Madrid Fault with a potential magnitude of 7.6 on the Richter Scale may elect to be subject to the provisions of sections 160.451 to 160.455.

(L. 1990 S.B. 539 § 5)

47 Missouri Counties Most Impacted by New Madrid Seismic Event (and City of Saint Louis)

These are the 47 counties and the City of St. Louis affected in a New Madrid Earthquake by Mercalli number and in alphabetical order. Modified Mercalli Earthquake Intensities are based on a 7.6 Richter Magnitude Earthquake. Mercalli X would have the greatest amount of damage.

Mercalli X

Mississippi County New Madrid County Pemiscot County

Mercalli IX

Dunklin County Scott County Stoddard County

Mercalli VIII

Bollinger County
Butler County
City of Saint Louis

Cape Girardeau County

Lewis County Lincoln County Marion County Perry County Pike County Ralls County

Mercalli VII

Monroe County **Adair County** Montgomery County **Audrain County** Oregon County **Boone County** Callaway County **Osage County Carter County Putnam County Chariton County** Randolph County **Reynolds County** Clark County **Ripley County** Cole County **Howard County Schuyler County Scotland County Iron County Shelby County** Jefferson County St. Charles County **Knox County** St. Francois County Macon County Ste. Genevieve County **Madison County**

Washington County Wayne County Warren County