BYLAWS OF THE MISSOURI SEISMIC SAFETY COMMISSION Revised 2017

ARTICLE I.

Section 1. Name. The name of this organization is the Missouri Seismic Safety Commission, herein termed the Commission.

Section 2. Authority. The authority of the Commission was established by Revised Statute of Missouri (RSMo) Sections 44.225 through 44.237 also known as the Seismic Safety Commission Act. No portion of these bylaws nor standing rules of the Commission shall be allowed to supersede or conflict with applicable statutes, rules and regulations of the State of Missouri.

Section 3. Location. The principal office and regular place for the transaction of business of this Commission shall be the Missouri State Emergency Management Agency office at 2302 Militia Drive, P.O. Box 116, Jefferson City, Missouri 65102. Commission meetings and hearings may be held from time to time at various locations within the state of Missouri, as deemed appropriate by the Commission.

ARTICLE II. Membership

Section 1. Voting Members. The voting membership of this Commission shall consist of the Commissioners duly appointed by the Governor of Missouri, and confirmed by the Senate of the State of Missouri or appointed by the President Pro Tem of the Senate or appointed by the Speaker of the House.

ARTICLE III Officers

Section 1. Officers. The elective officers of the Commission shall be the Chairman and Vice Chairman. No Commissioner shall hold more than one elective office.

Section 2. Term of Office. Each of the elective officers of the Commission shall be elected for a term of one (1) year and shall serve until the successor is elected and qualified. No elective officer of the Commission may be eligible to serve more than two (2) consecutive terms in the same office.

Section 3. Elections. The Commission shall elect the officers at the last meeting of each calendar year. If there is but one candidate for each office to be filled, the election may be by acclamation. If there is more than one candidate for each office, the election shall be by ballot vote.

Section 4. Vacancies. Upon the death, resignation, or dismissal of the Chairman, such office shall become vacant, and the Vice Chairman will assume the office of Chairman and will appoint

a Vice Chair for the unexpired term. Should the Vice Chair office become vacant, the Chairman will appoint the Vice Chair for the unexpired term. In the event both offices are vacated, the board shall convene and elect new officers.

Section 5. Duties of the Officers:

- a. Chairman. The Chairman shall preside at all meetings of the Commission.
- b. Vice-Chairman. The Vice-Chairman shall assist the Chairman in the performance of the details and duties of his/her office, in the temporary absence or inability of the Chairman.
- c. In the event the chair and vice chair are unavailable for a meeting, which cannot be rescheduled, the Chairman will appoint a commissioner to fulfill the duties of the office for that meeting. The Chairman must provide to all commission members the designee's name and contact information via email or text with contact information no less than 24 hours in advance of a regularly scheduled commission meeting or by notification of the Chairman or Vice Chair prior to the meeting commencement of an emergency meeting.

ARTICLE IV. Meetings

Section 1. The Commission shall meet at least two (2) times in each calendar year. Additional meetings of the Commission may be held as determined necessary. Meetings shall conform to all applicable statutes of Missouri, especially Section 610 RSMo, commonly referred to as the Sunshine Law.

Section 2. Notice of Meetings. All members shall be notified by mail, E-mail or facsimile at least seven (7) days in advance of General Meetings.

Section 3. Emergency Meetings. An emergency meeting of the Commission may be called by the Chairman, without advance notice or prior approval of the Commission, in the event of an earthquake or as ordered by the Governor. An Emergency meeting of the Commission may be held by telephone conference call provided a quorum can be obtained.

Section 4. Quorum. A quorum shall consist of a majority of appointed members, but not less than seven members, and may be met by electronic attendance and nonvoting participation of the staff of the legislative members of the commission.

ARTICLE V. Committees

Committees may be established by the Commission or by the Commission Chairman. These committees may be comprised of members of the Commission and interested public and private groups. Each committee shall elect a chair to represent the findings of that committee to the commission at regularly scheduled meetings.

ARTICLE VI. Parliamentary Authority

The rules contained in the current edition of Robert's Rules of Order Newly Revised shall govern the Commission in all cases to which they are applicable and in which they are not inconsistent with the statutes, rules and regulations of the state of Missouri nor with these bylaws nor with any special rules of order the Commission may adopt.

ARTICLE VII. Amendment of Bylaws

Section 1. Amendments to the Bylaws may be proposed by a Member of the Commission.

Section 2. Adoption of amendments shall be by a two-thirds (2/3) affirmative majority of the membership at a regular Commission meeting, providing the proposal to amend had been introduced at a regular Commission meeting prior to being considered.