11/13/2008 - Severe Storms, Flooding, and a Tornado

In September 2008, Missouri experienced severe weather including high winds, hail, tornadoes, flooding and flash flooding. During this storm, which was caused by a mixture of a stationary cold front and the remains of Hurricane Ike, rivers throughout the state flooded, causing extensive damage to homes, businesses and public infrastructure. The storm was responsible for four deaths and several storm-related injuries. It destroyed 12 homes, did major damage to 199 homes, and more than 1,000 homes were reported to have minor damage. Over 1,650 homes were affected by the storm. Utility companies reported that more than 71,000 customers lost power, some for more than five days.

Three shelters were established for the affected counties, which housed nine people for a total of 42 nights. Many other disaster victims stayed with friends and family, and visited the shelters for assistance during the day to get emergency supplies. Over 1,250 meals and snacks were provided during this time.

On Sept. 14, Gov. Matt Blunt ordered activation of the State Emergency Operations Plan in response to the storm. On Sept. 17, Gov. Blunt requested that damage assessment be conducted in the affected areas.

On Oct. 6, Gov. Blunt requested that President George Bush declare a major disaster in Missouri as a result of the storms, requesting Public and Individual Assistance for the affected counties.

On Nov. 13, President Bush granted a disaster declaration, providing Public Assistance and Individual Assistance. Counties included in this disaster declaration were Adair, Audrain, Barry, Bollinger, Boone, Butler, Callaway, Cape Girardeau, Carter, Chariton, Christian, Clark, Crawford, Dent, Douglas, Dunklin, Howard, Howell, Jefferson, Knox, Lewis, Lincoln, Linn, Madison, Maries, Marion, Miller, Mississippi, Montgomery, New Madrid, Oregon, Osage, Ozark, Perry, Ralls, Randolph, Ray, Reynolds, Ripley, St. Charles, St. Louis, Ste Genevieve, Schuyler, Scotland, Scott, Shannon, Shelby, Stoddard, Stone, Sullivan, Taney, Texas, Wayne, Webster and Wright counties and the Independent City of St. Louis.

The major disaster declaration provided public assistance to the affected counties for emergency work to repair or replace facilities damaged by the severe storms. FEMA’s Public Assistance program provides federal funds to reimburse 75 percent of the costs for removing debris, conducting emergency activities and repairing levees, roads, bridges, utility and water control facilities, public buildings and parks.

FEMA’s Individual Assistance Program provides disaster assistance for individuals and households affected by declared disasters. This includes the cost of repairs and replacements not covered by insurance on homes and vehicles affected by the disaster, temporary housing for those left without a home, disaster related medical and dental care, disaster related funeral and burial costs, moving and storage costs, crisis counseling and any other expenses determined necessary by FEMA.

More information on this disaster is available on FEMA's website.