Disaster Update - 11/10/11

The U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) has granted Gov. Nixon’s request to make low-interest disaster loans available to qualified homeowners, renters, businesses and non-profit organizations affected by severe storms and straight line winds from June 26-27. The low-interest loans will be available to qualified residents and businesses affected by the storm in Franklin, Lincoln, St. Charles, St. Louis and Warren counties.

Disaster Update – 9/9/11

The Federal Emergency Management Agency has extended federal disaster assistance to local and county governments in 10 Missouri counties. Andrew, Atchison, Buchanan, Carroll, Cooper, Holt, Lafayette, Platte, Ray and Saline counties are now eligible to seek assistance for response and recovery expenses due to record Missouri River flooding.


In June 2011, Missouri was impacted by severe storms and historic flooding along the Missouri River that caused extensive damage to homes, businesses and farmland in the affected communities. High levels of snowmelt in the upper Missouri River Basin and record releases from major reservoirs along the Missouri River led to severe flooding in northwest Missouri. Flooding forced the evacuation of communities along the Missouri River and left thousands of acres of farmland flooded.

As a result of previous severe storms, flooding and tornadoes in Missouri, the State of Emergency Operations Plan had been activated since April 22 as requested by Gov. Jay Nixon. On June 22, Gov. Nixon extended the orders through Sept. 15.

On June 8, Gov. Nixon ordered that the Missouri National Guard coordinate and supervise local authorities in preparing and responding to the Missouri River flooding.

On June 21, Gov. Nixon ordered that the State Emergency Management Agency work closely with local jurisdictions to assist communities in obtaining sand for sandbagging efforts.

On July 25, Gov. Nixon requested a major disaster declaration by President Barack Obama, requesting Individual and Public Assistance for the affected areas.

On Aug. 12, a major disaster declaration was granted by President Obama for Individual Assistance in Andrew, Atchison, Buchanan, Holt, Lafayette and Platte counties.

The major disaster declaration provided individual assistance to eligible individuals and families in the affected counties for uninsured losses from flooding including temporary housing, home repairs and replacement of household items.

FEMA’s Individual Assistance Program provides disaster assistance for individuals and households affected by declared disasters. This includes the cost of repairs and replacements not covered by insurance on homes and vehicles affected by the disaster, temporary housing for those left without a home, disaster related medical and dental care, disaster related funeral and burial costs, moving and storage costs, crisis counseling and any other expenses determined necessary by FEMA.