Disaster Update - 10/8/13

The U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA)announced it will make low-interest disaster loans available to residents and business owners in 12 Missouri counties that were affected by severe storms, flooding and flash flooding from Aug. 2 to Aug. 14. The SBA declaration was for Pulaski and Taney counties, which also makes the low-interest loans available in the contiguous counties of Camden, Christian, Douglas, Laclede, Maries, Miller, Ozark, Phelps, Stone and Texas.

Disaster Update - 9/6/13

The federal government approved Gov. Nixon’s request for a major disaster declaration for Missouri as a result of the severe storms that generated flooding and flash flooding throughout much of the southern portion of the state from Aug. 2 to Aug. 14. The federal government has approved public assistance for 18 Missouri counties, which allows local governments and nonprofit agencies to seek assistance for response and recovery expenses associated with the severe weather and flooding.

Missouri rebuilds after flash flooding

The counties included in the federal disaster declaration are: Barry, Camden, Cedar, Dade, Dallas, Laclede, Maries, McDonald, Miller, Osage, Ozark, Phelps, Pulaski, Shannon, Taney, Texas, Webster and Wright.


Beginning in early August, parts of south central and southwest Missouri were hit by heavy rains that often stalled, dropping eight or more inches of rains in some locations in a matter of hours, leading to flash flooding. Three people were killed in the flooding, I-44 had to be closed briefly near Jerome, Mo., there was extensive damage to roads and low water crossing and many homes were damaged or destroyed.

Gov. Nixon assesses deadly flash flooding in Waynesville

On Aug. 6, Gov. Nixon declared a state of emergency in Missouri in response to the continuing flooding hazards. The order activated the State Emergency Operation Center allowing the state to mobilize its resources, including the State Emergency Management Agency (SEMA) to assist local authorities.

On Aug. 7, Gov. Nixon ordered the deployment of Missouri National Guard Citizen-Soldiers and Airmen to assist local authorities in protecting lives and property.

On Aug, 27, following joint damage assessments, Gov. Nixon requested a major disaster declaration for both public assistance and individual assistance in the following 14 counties: Barry, Camden, Dallas, Laclede, Maries, McDonald, Miller, Osage, Ozark, Phelps, Pulaski, Taney, Texas and Webster. The Governor is seeking public assistance in four additional counties - Cedar, Dade, Shannon and Wright - and individual assistance in four other counties: Dent, Gasconade, Morgan and Polk.

  • 08/06/13 - Gov. Nixon declares state of emergency in response to deadly flooding
  • 08/07/13 - Gov. Nixon deploys Missouri National Guard to assist local authorities with flood response efforts
  • 08/27/13 - Gov. Nixon requests major disaster declaration to assist Missouri communities impacted by flooding
  • 09/06/13 - Missouri receives major disaster declaration in response to Gov. Nixon's request
  • 10/08/13 - SBA grants Gov. Nixon's request for disaster assistance for residents, businesses affected by flooding