May 10, 2011

How to apply for federal assistance in counties designated as major disaster areas

Federal assistance is available for eligible uninsured losses in Butler, Mississippi, New Madrid, St. Louis and Taney counties

Residents of Butler, Mississippi, New Madrid, St. Louis and Taney counties that have been hit by severe storms or flooding since April 19, and who have experienced uninsured losses, may be   eligible for federal assistance. On May 9, President Barack Obama granted a major disaster declaration for these counties, following a request by Gov. Jay Nixon. The declaration means eligible individuals and households can seek federal assistance for uninsured losses, including temporary housing, home repair and replacement of household items.
Affected residents must register to be considered for assistance by going to or calling 1-800-621-FEMA (3362). For more details on the federal disaster declaration and the approval process please visit

Additional counties in Missouri may be designated as disaster areas as additional damage assessments are completed.

For additional information on emergency response in Missouri, please continue to visit the State Emergency Management Agency at and


For more information, call 573-751-5432 or e-mail