June 09, 2017

Centers Open in Franklin and Jefferson Counties to Help Missouri Flood Survivors


FEMA Disaster Recovery Centers are opening Saturday, June 10, in Franklin and Jefferson counties, in the cities of Pacific and Arnold. The centers offer in-person support to individuals and businesses in any of the 27 counties included in the Missouri federal disaster declaration for flooding and severe storms that occurred between April 28 and May 11, 2017.

Recovery specialists from the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA), U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) and other agencies will be at the centers to discuss assistance and to help anyone who needs information or assistance filing an application. The new centers are at these locations:

Tri-County Senior Center
800 W. Union St.
Pacific, MO 63069

Arnold Police Department
2101 Jeffco Blvd.
Arnold, MO 63010

The centers will be open from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. seven days a week. A recovery center opened in Van Buren, in Carter County, on Thursday and remains open from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. seven days a week.

Homeowners, renters and business-owners are encouraged to register with FEMA before visiting a disaster recovery center. Register online at or by calling toll-free 800- 621-3362 (FEMA) from 6 a.m. to 10 p.m. seven days a week until further notice. Multilingual registration assistance is available. Survivors may also register using the FEMA app for smartphones.

In the coming days, FEMA will be opening additional disaster recovery centers in other communities included in the federal disaster declaration.

Disaster survivors may visit any of the centers for assistance. Locations of recovery centers may be found online at

FEMA provides grants to qualified individuals for rental assistance, home repairs, or other serious disaster-related losses.

The U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) offers low-interest disaster loans to businesses of all sizes, most private nonprofit organizations, homeowners and renters.

SBA also offers low-interest working capital loans (called Economic Injury Disaster Loans) to small businesses and most private nonprofit organizations having difficulty meeting obligations as a result of the disaster.

For more information, applicants may contact SBA’s Disaster Assistance Customer Service Center by calling 800-659-2955, emailing, or visiting SBA’s website at Deaf and hard-of-hearing individuals may call 800-877-8339.

SEMA and FEMA are committed to ensuring services and assistance are available for people with disabilities. When you register, let FEMA staff know that you have a need or a reasonable accommodation request. People who use 711 or Video Relay Services may call 800-621-3362. Those who use TTY may call 800-462-7585.

The federal disaster declaration covers eligible losses caused by flooding and severe storms between April 28 and May 11, 2017 in these counties: Bollinger, Butler, Carter, Douglas, Dunklin, Franklin, Gasconade, Howell, Jasper, Jefferson, Madison, Maries, McDonald, Newton, Oregon, Osage, Ozark, Pemiscot, Phelps, Pulaski, Reynolds, Ripley, Shannon, St. Louis, Stone, Taney, and Texas.



For more information, call 573-751-5432 or e-mail