January 11, 2016

Curbside pickup of general flooding debris under ‘Operation Recovery’ continuing in St. Louis region Tuesday, Jan. 12

Curbside pickup of general debris under the “Operation Recovery” program is scheduled to continue in parts of the St. Louis region on Tuesday, Jan. 12. Plans call for pickups in the following areas on Tuesday:


Franklin County: Pacific area and unincorporated areas near Robertsville

Jefferson County: Unincorporated areas near Byrnes Mill and on Twin Rivers Road

St. Charles County: St. Peters area

St. Louis County: Eureka and Fenton areas; unincorporated areas near Mehlville


Information about debris collection in other flood-affected communities of Franklin, Jefferson, St. Charles and St. Louis counties that are participating in the Operation Recovery program will be released as available. Residents should continue to check for updates or check with their local jurisdiction for updates. The site, which is available at, includes a list of participating communities, and instructions for separating different categories of debris for curbside pickup, along with restrictions. 


If pickups progress ahead of schedule tomorrow, crews may be able to collect from additional communities tomorrow. Residents can be assured the crews will make more than one pass through each affected community, but the more debris that can be moved to the curb and separated into the categories listed above, the faster debris can be cleared from all affected areas.


In other communities affected by flooding, debris is being picked up by city workers, regular trash haulers, contractors hired by the local government or volunteers. Please follow local guidance for special instructions in assisting and complying with these efforts.


Operation Recovery is a federal (FEMA) and state debris removal program being coordinated by the Missouri National Guard, the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers (USACE) and the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA), as a result of a request for a federal emergency declaration by Gov. Jay Nixon on Jan. 2, and granted by President Barack Obama the same day.