June 04, 2017

FEMA teams to visit flood-impacted neighborhoods to help flood survivors register for assistance beginning Monday

FEMA representatives expected to be in 7 Missouri counties on June 5; will later visit additional counties included in federal disaster declaration

Residents of 27 Missouri counties included in Friday’s federal disaster declaration may soon see Federal Emergency Management Agency representatives in their neighborhoods knocking on doors to help with registration for disaster assistance and answer questions about the FEMA assistance process.

On Monday, June 5, the FEMA representatives, called Disaster Survivor Assistance teams, are scheduled to be in Carter, Franklin, Jefferson, Howell, Newton, Ripley and Taney counties.

Disaster Survivor Assistance representatives will be carrying FEMA photo identification badges and may ask for personal information to help speed up the disaster assistance process. This is part of the disaster registration process and the information will be kept secure.

The fastest way to register for assistance continues to be online or by calling FEMA’s toll-free number. Residents who were affected can register for FEMA assistance online at or call 1-800-621-FEMA (3362) from 6 a.m. to 10 p.m. seven days a week.

As of 7 a.m. Sunday, more than 400 Missouri families had already applied for FEMA assistance online or over the phone.

To help survivors register for assistance, FEMA DSA teams may ask for the following information:

  • Phone number where you can be reached.
  • Your social security number.
  • Your current mailing address.
  • Address of the affected property.
  • Brief description of the damage.
  • Insurance information including your policy number.

The teams can also provide updates on disaster application status; on-the-spot needs assessments; and referrals to help fill outstanding needs.

Residents of other counties included in the federal disaster declaration for assistance to families and individuals can also expect to see representatives in their neighborhoods at a later date. Those counties are: Bollinger, Butler, Douglas, Dunklin, Gasconade, Jasper, Madison, Maries, McDonald, Oregon, Osage, Ozark, Pemiscot, Phelps, Pulaski, Reynolds, Shannon, St. Louis, Stone, and Texas.

Home inspectors will also be in the field soon verifying damage for those who have applied for federal assistance. Inspectors will contact homeowners and renters to schedule a time to meet to verify flood damage that occurred from April 28 to May 11, 2017.

Inspectors are contractors who will display official photo identification. If the photo identification is not displayed, it is important to ask to see it. This helps prevent fraudulent activities. People who have concerns should contact local law enforcement.

Individuals or business owners that apply for a disaster loan with the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) may also be contacted by a loss verifier who will inspect the damaged property. 

SEMA and FEMA are committed to ensuring services and assistance are available for people with disabilities. When you register, let FEMA staff know that you have a need or a reasonable accommodation request. People who use 711 or Video Relay Services may call 1-800-621-3362. Those who use TTY may call 1-800-462-7585. 

Information on the disaster registration and updates on the flood recovery are available at The site is updated regularly.   


For more information, call 573-751-5432 or e-mail