August 31, 2015

Eight additional Missouri counties to receive disaster aid, after FEMA grants Gov. Nixon’s request

Addition increases disaster declaration to 76 counties, most since the Great Flood of 1993

Gov. Jay Nixon today announced eight more Missouri counties will receive disaster assistance after the Federal Emergency Management Agency approved his request to expand the federal major disaster declaration for flash flooding and severe storms that was declared on Aug. 7. Local governments and nonprofit agencies in Camden, Jackson, New Madrid, Nodaway, Oregon, Pemiscot, Phelps and St. Clair counties can seek federal assistance in response and recovery expenses associated with the flooding and severe weather. Continue reading the news release from the office of Gov. Jay Nixon: