July 18, 2019

FEMA Agrees to Missouri’s Request to Consider Expanding Disaster Assistance to Residents in 21 Additional Counties

 Today, the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) agreed to the state of Missouri’s request to consider expanding last week’s federal disaster declaration. FEMA agreed to reevaluate the request for inclusion of 21 counties that were denied federal assistance on July 9. FEMA agreed to do the following: 

  • Conduct new damage assessments with the State Emergency Management Agency (SEMA) and local officials in counties where newly identified damaged homes have been found;
  • Use ground teams to more fully assess areas that had previously been reviewed only by helicopter; and
  • Reevaluate insurance levels and income levels as factors in the ability to recover in some of the affected counties.

Continue reading the news release from Governor Mike Parson's office here.



For more information, call 573-751-1010 or e-mail