August 23, 2019

Applicant Briefings begin next Monday, August 26, for local governments, nonprofits included in federal disaster declaration

Local governments and eligible agencies in 68 counties included in federal Public Assistance disaster declaration strongly encouraged to attend the meetings, which discuss application process and FEMA program rules

The State Emergency Management Agency will start conducting Applicant Briefings for local government and nonprofit agencies in 68 counties applying for federal assistance for damage to roads, bridges and public infrastructure and emergency response costs as a result of flooding, tornadoes and severe storms from April 29 to July 5.

Seventeen applicant briefings are currently scheduled and will be located across the federally declared disaster area beginning next Monday, August 26 through Friday, September 6. All eligible agencies that plan to apply for assistance from the Federal Emergency Management Agency are strongly encouraged to attend any one of the briefings, which explain program changes, eligibility information, the federal reimbursement process, documentation requirements and other essential program information. All Requests for Public Assistance must be submitted to FEMA within 30 days of the August 28 disaster declaration date, or September 27. Applicants should note that the Requests for Public Assistance (RPAs) must first be received by SEMA, processed, and then submitted to FEMA by the September deadline, and to plan accordingly.

The authorized representative of each potential applicant should attend one of the briefings in order to register for Public Assistance. Attendees should expect the meeting to last about 4 hours, and to bring the organization’s DUNS number and Federal Employer Identification Number in order to register with FEMA in a timely manner.

Monday, August 26
1:00 p.m. – 5:00 p.m. 
Midwest Public Risk
19400 E Valley Parkway
Independence, MO 64055

Monday, August 26
1:00 p.m. – 5:00 p.m. 
Shirley Bomar Building
253 Munger Lane
Hannibal, MO 63401

Tuesday, August 27
8:30 a.m. – 12:30 p.m. 
Butler City Hall
22 West Ohio Street
Butler, MO 64730

Wednesday, August 28
9:00 a.m. – 1:00 p.m. 
Thiebaud Auditorium
105 E. 11th Street
Lamar, MO 64759

Thursday, August 29
9:00 a.m. – 1:00 p.m. 
The Casino Building
101 S. Lincoln Ave
Monett, MO 65708

Friday, August 30
9:00 a.m. – 1:00 p.m. 
Diggins Baptist Church
700 Normandy Road
Seymour, MO 65746

Tuesday, September 3
9:00 a.m. – 1:00 p.m. 
Jefferson City Police Department
Training Room
401 Monroe Street
Jefferson City, MO 65101

Tuesday, September 3
11:00 a.m. – 3:00 p.m.
Kirksville EDA Building
315 S. Franklin Street
Kirksville, MO 63501

Tuesday, September 3
1:00 p.m. – 5:00 p.m.
Ste. Genevieve County Community Center
21390 Hwy 32
Ste. Genevieve, MO 63670

Wednesday, September 4
9:00 a.m. – 1:00 p.m.
Laclede County OEM
186 North Adams St.
Lebanon, MO 65536

Wednesday, September 4
9:00 a.m. – 1:00 p.m.
Nodaway County Administrative Building
Main Floor Conference Room
403 North Main
Maryville, MO

Wednesday, September 4
1:00 p.m. – 5:00 p.m. 
The Lodge in Rothwell Park
109 Rothwell Park Road
Moberly, MO 65270

Thursday, September 5
9:00 a.m. – 1:00 p.m.
Texas County Justice Center
519 N Grand Ave.
Houston, MO 65483

Thursday, September 5
12:00 p.m. – 4:00 p.m. 
Lady Luck Casino
Lone Wolf Room
777 E 3rd Street
Caruthersville, MO 63830

Friday, September 6
8:00 a.m. – 12:00 p.m. 
Bollinger County Courthouse
204 High Street
Marble Hill, MO 63764

Friday, September 6
9:00 a.m. – 1:00 p.m.
Moch Wellness Center
603 W. Broadway Ave.
Ava, MO 65608

Friday, September 6
9:00 a.m. – 1:00 p.m. 
Calvary Baptist Church
206 Locust Street
Chillicothe, MO 64601

(The Applicant Briefings are not for the general public and there will not be any information related to the FEMA Individual Assistance program, which provides assistance to individuals and families.) 

Governmental agencies – including special districts like road districts, and water or sewer districts – and nonprofits that incurred disaster-related expenses should attend, including those that are unsure of their eligibility status, from the following counties included in the federal Public Assistance disaster declaration: Adair, Andrew, Atchison, Barry, Barton, Bates, Bollinger, Buchanan, Caldwell, Camden, Cape Girardeau, Carroll, Cedar, Chariton, Clark, Cole, Dade, Dallas, Daviess, Douglas, Gentry, Grundy, Harrison, Henry, Hickory, Holt, Howell, Jackson, Jasper, Knox, Laclede, Lewis, Linn, Livingston, Macon, Maries, Marion, McDonald, Mercer, Miller, Mississippi, Monroe, Montgomery, New Madrid, Newton, Nodaway, Ozark, Pemiscot, Perry, Pike, Putnam, Ralls, Randolph, Ray, Ste. Genevieve, Saline, Schuyler, Scotland, Shannon, Shelby, Stoddard, Sullivan, Taney, Texas, Vernon, Wayne, Webster, and Wright.

SEMA encourages public officials and community leaders in the 68 affected counties to share information about the Applicant Briefings with all potential applicants to ensure they have an opportunity to attend and submit a request for FEMA Public Assistance.

Additional information about more upcoming Applicant Briefings and the FEMA Public Assistance program is available on the SEMA website at

For questions about the Applicant Briefings or the Public Assistance program, call (573) 526-9234.


For more information, call 573-751-6294 or e-mail