July 14, 2017

More Missouri residents and local governments will receive federal disaster assistance after FEMA approves Gov. Greitens’ request to expand Missouri disaster declaration

Eligible homeowners, renters and businesses in Christian, Crawford, Dent, Greene, Iron, Ste. Genevieve, Wayne and Wright counties can now receive federal disaster assistance and are urged to apply quickly to meet Aug. 1 registration deadline; Federal assistance with infrastructure repairs and emergency response costs expanded to Boone, Cape Girardeau, Mississippi, New Madrid, Pemiscot, Ste. Genevieve and Scott counties

Gov. Eric Greitens today announced more Missouri homeowners, renters and businesses, and local government agencies can receive vital federal disaster assistance after the Federal Emergency Management Agency approved his request to expand the federal disaster declaration for spring flooding and severe storms in Missouri.

“This expansion of the federal disaster declaration means more Missouri families and communities will receive critical assistance as they recover from historic flooding that left some with unprecedented clean up and recovery expenses,” Gov. Greitens said. “I urge Missourians to act quickly and apply to FEMA so they can take advantage of this opportunity to advance Missouri’s recovery across the state.”

Assistance to Individuals and Families

FEMA has approved the Governor’s request to expand assistance to eligible homeowners, renters and businesses in Christian, Crawford, Dent, Greene, Iron, Ste. Genevieve, Wayne and Wright counties. 

Homeowners and renters who sustained damage or losses due to the flooding and severe storms can register for disaster assistance by calling the FEMA toll-free at 800-621-3362, from 6 a.m. to 10 p.m. seven days a week, or by going online to The quicker Missourians register with FEMA, the quicker they may be able to receive assistance.

Disaster assistance to eligible individuals and families generally falls into the following categories:

• Housing Assistance may be available for up to 18 months for displaced homeowners or renters whose primary residences received major damage or were destroyed. Funding also can be provided for housing repairs and replacement of damaged items to make homes habitable.

• Other Needs Assistance may be available for other disaster-related expenses, including essential household items, moving and storage, vehicles, medical and dental, child care, funeral and burial, and some clean-up items not covered by insurance and other assistance programs.

• Low-Interest Disaster Loans are available after a disaster for homeowners and renters from the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) to cover uninsured property losses. Loans may be available for repair or replacement of homes, automobiles, clothing or other damaged personal property. Loans are also available to businesses for property loss and economic injury.

• Other Disaster Assistance Programs include disaster unemployment assistance, crisis counseling, disaster case management, legal advice and assistance, including with income tax, housing issues, consumer protection, Social Security and veterans’ benefits.

Homeowners, renters and businesses are urged to apply quickly as the FEMA deadline to apply for assistance in Aug. 1.

The State Emergency Management Agency is working with FEMA to identify locations in which FEMA will operate Disaster Recovery Centers to assist flooding survivors with answers to their questions and help with registering for assistance in the eight newly added counties. However, there is no need to wait to register and flood survivors are encouraged to register online or by calling FEMA.

The original federal Individual Assistance disaster declaration was for the 27 counties of: Bollinger, Butler, Carter, Douglas, Dunklin, Franklin, Gasconade, Howell, Jasper, Jefferson, Madison, Maries, McDonald, Newton, Oregon, Osage, Ozark, Pemiscot, Phelps, Pulaski, Reynolds, Ripley, Shannon, St. Louis, Stone, Taney, and Texas.

Through July 13, federal assistance to the disaster survivors in those 27 counties has included:

  • More than $10.6 million in grant assistance to more than 1,600 homeowners and renters; and
  • More than $10.1 million in SBA loans to more than 170 homeowners and businesses.


Assistance to Local Government Agencies, Nonprofits for Infrastructure Repairs and Response Costs

Following FEMA’s approval of Gov. Greitens’ request, local governments and nonprofit agencies in Boone, Cape Girardeau, Mississippi, New Madrid, Pemiscot, Ste. Genevieve and Scott counties can now request federal assistance for repair and replacement expenses for roads, bridges and infrastructure, and emergency response costs.

SEMA is now working to schedule regional state Applicant Briefings to inform county and municipal governments; public water, sewer and other special districts; and nonprofit agencies of the FEMA application process. Meeting notifications will be made once the briefing schedule has been set.

The deadline to file Requests for Public Assistance for applicants in seven newly designated counties is Aug. 12.

Through July 13, more than 230 local and county governments; public water, sewer and road districts; and nonprofits in the 46 counties included in the original June 2 Public Assistance disaster declaration have filed requests for Public Assistance.

Additional information on the Public Assistance program and the Applicant Briefing process is available on the SEMA website here. For questions about applicant briefings or the Public Assistance program, call SEMA at (573) 526-9234.

The original June 2 federal Public Assistance disaster declaration was for the 46 counties of: Barry, Barton, Bollinger, Butler, Camden, Carter, Cedar, Christian, Cole, Crawford, Dade, Dallas, Dent, Douglas, Dunklin, Franklin, Gasconade, Howell, Iron, Jefferson, Lawrence, Madison, Maries, McDonald, Miller, Morgan, Newton, Oregon, Osage, Ozark, Perry, Phelps, Pike, Pulaski, Ralls, Reynolds, Ripley, Shannon, St. Louis, Stone, Taney, Texas, Washington, Wayne, Webster, and Wright.



For more information, call 573-751-5432 or e-mail